Another story about shady Clare folk.
Interesting story in the Limerick Post. A little inaccurate, but interesting nonetheless.
THE new .eu domain name for European firms is up and running but those not quick off the mark to register themselves are now being asked to hand over 2,100 to cybersquatters just to get their own names back.
Businesses in Limerick are being forewarned to ignore a letter already being issued to Ennis firms and not to pay up.
E-business specialist Seanie Ryan advises that companies who have already secured the .ie and/or .com domain names won’t be affected by the lack of a .eu domain but if it has not already been registered by a cybersquatter, they should register themselves now.
The signature on the letter, already received by The Belleek Shop in Ennis, is that of an Irish woman. She claims to represent a “Clare-basedâ€? company called Domainguard Ireland, and openly admits to snapping up “thousandsâ€? of Irish internet domain names with the new .eu ending.
A company calling itself DomainGuard is offering companies in the Mid-West region .eu domain names at over the top prices.
An individual has snapped up “thousands” of unregistered .eu domain names for companies and is offering to sell them to those companies for as much as €2,100 a pop. The individual sends a letter to the company claiming that it has purchased the names in an effort to safeguard them from cybersquatters, and then offers to the company. The letter also claims that other companies are charging twice this.
The letter is then signed by a woman claiming to be from Ennis.
Firstly, it is a little odd that a company at the forefront of e-commerce would not even have a domain name of its own, or a website. A google for DomainGuard revealed that there is a German company of that name. However it does list Ireland as one of the countries in which it deals in.
It gets better. The Domain name BELLEEKSHOP.EU is registered to a man. A Mr. Gerard Quinn, from Mahonburg in Inch, Kilmalley, County Clare. the contact e-mail address is even better, It belongs to a Mr. Bryan Quinn, and is a two year old hotmail address.
The domain name was registered in April of 2006 through a domain registrar in Luxemburg.
This “company”, according to the Post, has also a non-existant VAT number printed on the letter being sent to its targets.
From the article:
We did discover however that Domainguard Ireland is not a registered company, and the VAT number cited on the invoice does not exist.
To register a .eu domain name costs only €10 according to the paper, and the process of removing a cybersquatter through the EURid.eu redress process costs €1,900, a whole €200 less than what this “company” is charging.
While it is not illegal for someone to buy up a domain name of a company, they may be breaking the law should they decide to use that name.
Here is another lie in the letter, remember now, the domain name was registered through a Luxemburg company
The Domainguard Ireland letter concedes that it is possible to take court action through EURid.eu’s ADR process at the Czech Republic court. But the letter claims that this court’s fee is 4,000 euro – double what the EURid.eu says it is.
As the person who is cybersquatting these domain names has left their address in the public domain, through their registrar, then I see no problem in publishing it here.